Sickness… :P

Well it’s that time of year!  Nope, not Halloween, or Thanksgiving, or Christmas!  That’s right folks, it’s flu season!  Or any-other-kind-of-sickness season–colds, fevers, upset stomach, pneumonia, strep throat, “the runs”, you name it!  You’ve got to love it!

I wonder what epidemic will sweep over America this year.  In my lifetime, the ones that I remember there being a bunch of people worked up about were West Nile Virus, Bird Flu, and most recently, Swine Flu.  Meningitis is another one that seems to be a big concern lately–especially for college students.  Being in the dorm environment makes me a little nervous, especially with our community bathroom.  I feel like once one person gets sick, EVERYONE is going to catch it.  I am not really too keen on that whole idea…

Being sick as a kid was really not all that bad.  You got to skip school, watch movies all day, AND drink Sprite–even at breakfast time!  I don’t remember ever enjoying being sick, but I also don’t remember ever absolutely hating being sick when I was younger.  I remember sitting in front of the TV watching some Disney movie with my Daisy Duck sippy cup full of Sprite in hand, and a trash can in front of me for whenever I had to puke.  I mean, don’t get me wrong, nobody likes throwing up.  It’s just not an enjoyable experience, but honestly, that five minute total that you spend throwing up when you’re sick is nothing compared to being able to get out of school, just hang out at home, watch movies, and drink pop when you’re a kid!

I remember one specific time when I was sick as a kid.  It was kind of a weird experience.  I went to bed like any other night, but in the middle of the night I had this dream that for some odd reason I HAD to eat this piece of cheese.  Now, granted, ever since first grade I have never been much of a cheese person–but that’s another story.  Anyway, so for whatever reason I had to eat this piece of cheese.  Well, I just knew in this dream that if I ate the cheese I was going to be sick.  Then, what do you know, I woke up and threw up!  That’s all I really remember about that specific time of being sick but yeah…thought it was pretty interesting.

Another interesting thing about when I was sick as a kid is that I was pretty independent about it.  My sister and I both were actually.  If we got sick in the middle of the night, we just handled it ourselves and never felt the need to wake up our mother unless there was a mess that needed to be cleaned up.  I’m sure my mom and dad certainly appreciated it!

I was thinking about taking this blog to a more serious, deep place, like about spiritual sickness and my opinion of how lots of sickness has to do with your mental state and attitude.  But you know…I’ll just keep it lighthearted!  It’s been real(;

(sorry…in a weird mood(: bye!)

Leave a comment